Is Coach Like McDonald’s? Also, Socialite Style

Hello-Hello everyone, what a scrumptious day here at the Prepatorium, despite an early trip to the HOP (House of Pain, aka the dentist) the day still sparkles. Is it bright and beautiful where you are? We ardently hope so, it is good for the soul.

We start with a little something we have been meaning to share for a few days, a look at one of “The Big Money” columns as run by Reuters last week: “Coach is Now Traveling Coach.”

“… fashionistas who prefer Hermès and Louis Vuitton dismiss Coach as gateway luxury. A competitor called it the “McDonald’s of luxury” and one fashion blogger asked during Boom 2.0 whether it is “the scheming social climber of the handbag world.”

Ouch!

Poppy line for Coach, Courtesy of Coach
Courtesy Photo

The story by Jill Priluck is focused more on the new Poppy line from Coach, most recently discussed in this forum here (with lots of pics!) and here (very brief) last month. More from the story:

“”Even the occasional luxury buyer shuns the brand: “I don’t want to carry the same bag as a 15-year-old,” said a 37-year-old mother from New Jersey.””

However, while Ms. Priluck’s story allows some to bash the retailer, she does not.

“And yet by all measures, Coach operates with exceptional savvy in the fast-changing, embattled fashion industry.”

Below, a collage featuring pieces from the new line not accompanying the article.

coach2

The story is a fascinating look at where the brand has been, and where it’s going. We highly recommend it.

Has anyone bought things from the new line? Looked at it in stores? Love it? Hate it? Unsure? Do tell, we are all dying to hear!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Other morsels and meanderings today include a reminder about the wonderful work being done by the incredibly-generous Prep-E Girl on behalf of our four-legged friends.

Miss Erin has started a new blog, Puppy Love by Erin, with a ‘higher purpose’ than most blogs, including this one. Erin is raising money so she can sponsor a puppy in the Puppies Behind Bars program, a $3000 undertaking.

erin+button

And how is she doing this? Because Miss E is one talented prep, she is making and selling handcrafted dog collars in all sorts of fabulous fabrics and materials. Below, a shot of the stylish Jake modeling one of the collars in an outstanding madras, very chic.

jake

Erin is requesting a $20 donation for each collar, very reasonable IOHO.  We want to do what we can to help out, and this is our first step, simply sharing information about Erin’s efforts with our friends here in the Preppy blogosphere.  Our next step will be more tangible, but that will be just ‘tween us and Miss Erin. 🙂

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

We share another bit of linkage now that we keep meaning to post, a wonderful story the folks over at the Refinery 29 Blog did in June.

From Babe to Brill: The Evolution of Socialite Style

The story by Kelly Hoffman really needs to be seen because of the superb graphic layout detailing styles decade by decade.

“Socialite, social, society—the words may change, but New York has always had its crowd of well-heeled women who never fail to bring the wow factor to a good party. But today’s toniest group of Tribute wearers weren’t the first pretty young things to light up a room (and cause a scandal or deux).”

Babe Paley, Nan Kempner, Carolyn Bessette Kennedy, Tinsley Mortimer and Lauren Santo Domingo are a few of the women featured. As you can surmise, the story is another fun read we suggest one might want to find time for!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Finally, we sign off with a darling photo we were emailed by the inimitable Jen at When Pigs Fly:

Cotton Candy Flip Flops at PreppyPrincess.com

Cotton Candy Flip Flops at PreppyPrincess.com

We’re very impressed by the lovely pedicure seen on those toes, our Cotton Candy flips are honored to be used merely to accent that elegance and beauty! (Heh-heh.) At any rate, Jen managed to find time to take the picture while in the midst of a horse show this weekend, talk about multi-tasking! (You can read more about the show here.)

We mentioned a fun feature to Jen that we are starting at the Princess shoppe, and she jumped on it, getting that image of the twinkletoes seen above to us despite her extremely busy weekend! Simply put, Pictures from a Preppy Planet (that is our goofy working title for our endeavor) asks our charming customers to send us a picture(s) showcasing their Princess merchandise in action.

We have our top IT Folks on this (exactly, The Consort) project, creating a special page for the pictures on the shoppe’s website. Because we are sensitive to the need for anonymity, we realize not all customers can show the products in use with a person. But photos like the one above are ideal, just perfect!

Best of all, anyone submitting a picture that we can use receives a 10% discount code to use at the Princess for a month, it seems only proper to say “Thank You” to those sharing their fun!

Until next time, happy day!



21 Comments

Filed under Preppy Fashion, preppy lifestyle, Preppy People

21 responses to “Is Coach Like McDonald’s? Also, Socialite Style

  1. Thank you Miss Princess, so very much for helping to spread the word about my collars/cause!

    You are too fabulous!

    -Erin

  2. I love Tinsley. Never get tired of her.

  3. LPC

    Princess, Pictures from a Preppy Planet is genius! I am dying to see all your adorable customers in their cute gear. Aw.

  4. MCW

    I soooo agree about Coach. But, I may call it more of a “Red Lobster” of handbags than McDonalds…haha

  5. Jen

    Love the inclusion of the twinkle toes. Many thanks for the kind shout out to my blog. The flip flops are even more adorable in person. After seeing them, I purchased the belt for myself.

  6. Denim & Pearls

    Ouch is right to the Coach comments! I still love the classic leather bags and can handle the print on small accessories. Plus, they make some more affordable luxuries. One of my favorite bags is my giant black Coach tote and I plan on carrying it until I drop!

  7. I always found Coach a little tacky and it’s definitley not like anything my friends would wear. But i think it’s OK if it’s like an all black bag or something simple enough without the C logos on it.

  8. I can see why people would say that about the Coach line, but at the same time it also is not even in the price range as LV, etc. I think its a great brand (D&B is personally my favorite) and it offers a taste of luxury at a more affordable price point. I don’t think it should be called the MickyD’s of handbags though.

    And on the topic of 15 year olds with Coach…instead of asking whether we want to carry the same bag as a 15 year old, maybe we should be asking why kids are carrying designer handbags around in the first place! Just a thought. 🙂

  9. I love the flip-flops!! I have been coveting them since Mrs. N featured them! What am I saying??? I have to plan a wedding!!! 😉 xoxo

  10. I didn’t realize coach bags weren’t cool. Even a coach purse is more than I’m willing to pay for a purse right now. Once I’m rich I’ll know never to stoop to a coach bag.

  11. I haven’t seen the new Poppy line yet, but I’m interested to check it out. I do like some of Coach’s items, just not the super flashy ones. I still think they have some nice things. As for those who don’t want to carry it because teens do – what about those of us prepsters who wear bow headbands just like the younger girls? 🙂 I love my bows no matter what. What a great idea to showcase pictures of people and their fabulous Princess products! Love it!!

  12. thank you for the heads up on all of the great articles to read! will have to take a look at the coach and socialite style ones! I’d agree though that coach has gotten a scooch main-stream, which means that I can’t buy them anymore!

    have a fabulous Friday TP 🙂

    kHm

  13. I think Coach is in dire need of a new PR person. That is all it takes to get back in the lime light again.

  14. Clare Brown

    Gah, I hate Coach with a passion. They have totally cheapened their brand and every girl in my sorority had about six of them covered in those horrible little C’s that just screamed “look at me! I have a coach bag.” No way. I am a Kate Spade, Birkin, Hermes kinda girl. Haha
    Thanks for sharing this!
    Cheers,
    Clare

  15. KK

    I’m not saying its all bad as I have several timeless Coach bags. But personally I think an allover logo is ta-ta-ta-tacky! I just can’t get behind paying to advertise for something. But that’s just me. McD is a bit harsh though.

  16. I don’t have a coach bag because I think they are grossly overpriced, although I did invest in 2 longchamps last week and love them!

  17. I have a few Coach things and none of them look like Coach. I hate the C’s all over the place.

    Hooray for Miss Erin! I love those who do good for the dogs!

  18. I was so impressed when I received my newsletter this morning – love the layout! Fun idea to incorporate reader photos as well.

    I’ve spied the new Coach line as I walked past my local retail store, and it looks . . . bright. As in, vibrantly colored (and be-logoed). For now, I’m just going to continue to carry my “old guard” Coach bags and look elsewhere for new ones.

    Off to check out that socialite link . . .

  19. I would argue that Coach does have some stylish pieces, although I have had quite enough of their signature print items.

    As for Mad Men, I really, really love that show. So fashionable and sooo intriguing!

  20. Nice post!

    I’m not much of a fan of Coach. I own a wristlet and like two bags from my preteen years though.

  21. Sidra

    I hate Coach for their loud “CC” logo all over their bags. I hate Louis Vuitton similarly so I am not trying to be all classist because of the price. It is totally conspicuous consumption; people claim that it’s about having a bag that will last you for life, but come on, how many 30 year olds have the same wristlet they had from their teen years? Guys don’t notice these bags at all, girls just get them to win the admiration of other girls. If it was about quality, why not just buy a good quality bag at a lower price point? Yes some of their bags are nice, i like the crossbodies which are easy and match everything, but most of it is becoming too garish and cheap looking. A purse for me is just a utilitarian thing and something to match my outfit. So yes I do care about looks, that’s why i’m not using a plastic bag but to care so much that you are spending the equivalent of 2-3 days salary on a purse is just disgusting. And the expenditure is one thing, but the logo to just show other women how much you spent, is even worse.

Leave a comment