12 responses to “That $8000 Seminar for Rush Week & Ralph Lauren Team USA Olympic Uniforms Follow Up

  1. This is all, all of it, too sorrowful and appalling. Boo to rush coaching. Boo to Big Pony. I’m going to go find my old khakis and a white tee and grub around in my rose bushes and get smudged. Hooray for weekends.

  2. Hmm, both interesting topics. The $8000 seminar seems to be a bit over the top for me…but I guess that is because I did not attend a University where that was a big deal.

    As for the Olympic Uniforms made in China…it is sad on so many levels, the least of which is that a company that in many ways represents Americana is almost completely made overseas. Secondly, we are facing the worst economy since the depression, and we need to have companies, especially American companies manufacturing their goods in America. Yes, it is more expensive but that is because you have to pay a decent wage here and offer insurance. You cannot get away with paying a person $10.00 a week or less and have them work in substandard conditions.

    I will not rant but lets face it, it is a sad day in America when we cannot even manufacture our Olympic uniforms in the USA. Election year or not, global economy or not…it just seems wrong.

    Have a great day, I always enjoy your blog.

    Elizabeth

  3. CallaLilly101

    For me, it’s simply that the USA is stressed and the subject/pain of outsourcing, loss of an entire manufacturing sector in the fashion district of New York, is fresh and painful. Ralph Lauren and so many “American” designers have left manufacturing here for China and third world countries and the advent of twitter makes information so much more accessible and easy to respond to than an old-time news print story.

    It’s a lot of chagrin for a billionaire American (quotes imagined) designer to both commercialize and make it here.

    Climates and sentiment change and personally I am very annoyed.

  4. Gablesgirl

    I am a sorority alumna from the University of Alabama, now cited as the most difficult “rush” in the country. We are all shocked that $8,000 classes is what it takes to get in. My, how times have changed!

  5. I attended a small liberal arts college in Maryland where 1/3 of the school was “greek”. However, we had a Spring rush and it was very underwhelming. Then I moved to Austin where I was, at different times, Chapter Advisor and Rush Advisor for my sorority’s chapter at The University of Texas. I was completely shocked by the preparation required for rush not only by the chapter members and the freshman rushees, but also by moms and other alumnae who worked all summer to get multiple recommendations for girls they knew to each of the houses on campus and to network the rising freshmen with sorority girls. Then there was the money spent by the chapter on the week of rush events and how distressed we were when the University sought to impose a $25,000 limit for the week, fretting about whether we could accomplish everything on that tight of a budget. As rush week arrived, presents started arriving to the house from family members of rushees, floral bouquets, cupcakes with the rushee’s name written on them, etc. There were the phone calls I received as an advisor from family members and friends of families of rushees pleading with me to include their girl’s name on the invitation list for the next round of parties or inquiring because it just must have been an oversight that their girl did not receive an invitation to return, or a bid. And finally, after rush, classes would start and there were always a few girls who transferred to another school because they did not receive a bid from their house of choice.

    After seeing two very different processes, I can also see where both have their merits. Sorority rush at a big school is really the first time this young lady is doing something all on her own, granted with a support system, but she’s not living at home, likely not even in the same city as her family. There is something to be said for preparing a girl to handle those situations, how to engage in small talk, dress properly and, generally, be a lady. I agree it is outrageous that this business can charge $8000 for their services, but I think it also says something about today’s society that there is a perceived need, and perhaps even a real need, for someone to teach these college freshman these qualities that will serve them very well later in life.

  6. Camille L.

    I’ve never liked the big pony…it’s not very prep now is it? But we are pretty much the only country without govt. support (funding) for our Olympic team– and while I’m sure Ralph Lauren is not doing this for free, I’m guessing the USOC is getting a good deal. So foreign made and “free advertising” it is…*sigh* It shouldn’t be a big deal, but it is. Now Ralph, get rid of the giant pony. Please.
    P.S.–I didn’t go Greek eons ago because I couldnt afford it and pay for college too. Good god, $8,000 to prep for rush? I’m mystified.

  7. It has only been about 12 years since I pledged a sorority and oh my how things have changed! It is unfortunate to hear that there are so many schools where there would not be an available position for so many young women looking to join an organization. Thank you for sharing the story; I quite enjoyed reading the entire article!

  8. I was never in a sorority, but $8,000 to prep for rush seems a little excessive…

  9. Anonymous

    It’s a hullabaloo this year because of the still-huge unemployment picture in the U.S., and the fact jobs just are not being created to match the available talent. Millions are unemployed or under-employed or have given up, and millions also have no health coverage due to lack of employment coupled with an inability to qualify for or afford individual policies (or both).

    Shame they couldn’t have left the logo smaller and in a complemenary shade rather than constrasting.

    I went through rush in uni, but to my poor mother’s dismay, sorority life just wasn’t for me. I saw many enjoy it a great deal, though.

  10. Lauren

    I said it in the last US Olympic post and I’ll say it again. The US is probably the only Olympic team that is funded by individual donations and not government funds. I donate to the USOC. If they can get cheaper uniforms made in China, that means more of my dollar(s) is left for the athletes, training, travel, etc. If people aren’t happy that our Olympic team is wearing uniforms made in China, I challenge them to put their money where their mouth is and donate to the USOC. The more moany they have at their disposal, the more they can pay for pricier US-made uniforms. And even if our Olympic team was government funded, our uniforms would probably still be made in China.
    As for the Big Polo Pony logo, it’s probably no longer or wider than the Nike swooshes on the competition wear. It’s just more noticeable.

  11. Lauren

    And where is the Nike Olympic competition wear made? Why isn’t there an uproar about that?

  12. Goodness, thank you for that Hickey Freeman palate cleanser – aren’t those just right? – after the $8K rush consultants & Giant Pony (bigger than the American flag?!) .

    I credit social media with the spread of the “made in China” Ralph Lauren story, in addition to the state of the economy, etc. I’m not entirely sure how I feel about the practice itself, though I do like the idea of Lauren’s challenge above to donate to USOC.

    Fascinated reading the comments about rush here. Having never rushed myself but having ties to two big Greek schools (USC & UT), I’m so intrigued by the seemingly Byzantine process.

Leave a Reply

