“Sexy Preps”? & Those Chanel Bandages (Really)

Hello-Hello, and welcome to a Wednesday here at the Prepatorium, we hope your week is going well.

For someone as busy as your trusty scribe, staying up on all of the celebrities and their businesses, endorsements, 72-day marriages for money and what-not can be a daunting task.  So you’ll forgive us for not being intimately familiar with a gentleman named Brad Goreski. But repeatedly seeing his name followed by the words “sexy prep,” a term some might say is an oxymoron,  made our fingers do some walking, and we toddled off to visit his blog. This picture is on his “about me” page. (Darling!)

"Bradley"

Mr. Goreski hasn’t posted anything since August but he has other photos of himself scattered throughout the existing posts, including this one. (Double darling!)

"My First Post"

At any rate, on that ‘about me” page Mr. Goreski describes himself as a stylist in the fashion industry. That narrowed things down. We did some more online looking and discovered he used to be on a program called The Rachel Zoe Project every week. (We realize that in the time it took me to sort all of this out you have re-read War and Peace.)

It turns out Mr. Goreski is also the new face of Tommy Hilfiger’s just-launched Eau de Prep. (Because we’re big people here at The Prepatorium, we are temporarily setting aside our personal distaste for ‘preppy parfums’ in the interest of journalism.)  The accompanying PR blitz is what has prompted all of the stories about “sexy preps.” Here is more from Refinery 29‘s story about the perfume debut, “Brad Goreski Talks Sexy Preps And His (Almost) Hip-Hop Career“:

“…being the impeccably put together prepster that he is, Brad was the obvious choice to host. True to form, he was sporting tartan plaid pants, a polka-dot bow tie, blazer, and pocket square.”

The story has a Q&A format:

Did you wear the original Tommy fragrance?
I did. I wore all things Tommy Hilfiger. Tommy almost made me hip-hop.

What is so attractive about the prep lifestyle?
I like the idea of looking my best at all times. Whether it’s a wearing a bow tie, a blazer, and plaid pants or a polo, jeans, and lace ups. I think it’s important, no matter the time of day, to put that extra effort in and look your best because you never know who you’re going to run into.

Hmmm…hip-hop and preppy? Below we see Mr. Goreski at the Macy’s launch for the scents last Thursday.

Albert Michael/Shadow PR via Refinery 29

Back to that vital question in Refinery 29’s interview with the stylist:

Who would you say is the sexiest prep in history?
Jake Ryan from 16 Candles. He’s like the end all, be all.

People magazine also covered the launch:

“I consider myself extremely preppy,” stylist Brad Goreski tells PEOPLE. “I always have been. I’ve been looking at a lot of my baby pics, and I’m always in a three-piece suit and bowtie.”

In all seriousness, Mr. Goreski looks like a nice young man, evidently he is going to have a new show on the Bravo network in 2012.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Here is one that is overqualified for our You Can’t Make This Stuff Up files, the oh-so-buzzed-about ‘Brandages’:

Via Sugoilife

Described as ‘all purpose designer bandages,‘ you can purchase your very own set for $7.95. Sadly, it took me a moment to make the leap: brand name + bandages = brandages.

Brandages via Sugoilife

Because nothing says tasteful like a Chanel bandage on one’s breasticles chest area.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Because we like to end on a positive note, we leave you with this:

Scottish Fine Soaps

That is the Welly Boots soap from Scottish Fine Soaps, at $7.50 a darling hostess gift, no?

On that, goodbye until next time!

10 Comments

Filed under Logos, preppy, Preppy clothing & brands, Preppy People, You Can't Make This Stuff Up

10 responses to ““Sexy Preps”? & Those Chanel Bandages (Really)

  1. Wendy

    OK, the Kim K marriage….I don’t think she faked it. I think she really loved him. Sadly celebrities live in such a fake world that they will never know what a true committed relationship is about. We are the lucky ones here! We know when we have a good thing and understand that relationships should be cherished. Kim K. is such a joke. She will never have a relationship that works.

    I think the name Tommy chose for the perfume is so goofy! I wish it was a little more subtle, like Button Down or Khaki, or Madras. Even Old School would have worked, but what do I know 🙂

    Brad is adorable! Thanks for another great post!

  2. MRM

    I will definitely be purchasing some of those soaps for my gift closet!

    Someone please tell me I’m not the only one who does this.

  3. Brad is cute! However, I don’t know if I would sign on to be the face to Tommy’s new perfume. I would run in the opposite direction.

    Designer bandages?!! Too much.
    Welly boots soap….love!!!

  4. Hi! Just discovered your fun blog via Privilege. I can tell already I will love it! Brad is a cutie, isn’t he? I’m happy to learn he will be getting a show.

    And those Band-Aids? No words!

  5. OK first things first I MUST get those soaps…the CUTEST thing ever. Brad is almost as cute and I have “known’ him for a few years, ever since he started with Rachel…I got such a charge watching him, he is a riot and I love his style and I think him having his own show is fabby idea…..but must draw the line at designer bandages, what next? I can see it now, your little darling gets a boo boo, you reach for sponge bob square pants, and she starts throwing a fit “I WANT THE CHANEL BANDAIDS”….what next? Aren’t we ALL entittled quite enough..whats wrong with Band Aids? They suit me just fine….fun post!!

  6. Amy

    Brad is too cute! He is such a doll, I love him.

    Seriously those bandages are stupid. It’s logo nightmare.

  7. haha! i bring that soap back with me from the UK because it’s so flippin’ cute! and it makes a great hostess present.

  8. OK. So I really just like the boots. Pigtown can be a guest at my house any day:).

  9. I never thought I’d see the day where brandaged (!) clevage appeared at the Prepatorium – perhaps that could be our new logo for the Anti-Prep Hall of Shame?

    On the opposite end of the spectrum, those Welly soaps are too darling. I’d buy them as a hostess gift except I’d inevitably just steal them for myself.

Leave a Reply

