Sneak Peek at Missoni for Target

Hello-Hello, welcome to another gorgeous day, the kind we all live for here in The Great Midwest.

Our focus today is that much-buzzed-about Missoni for Target collection, the retailer’s upcoming collaboration with the fabled Italian design house. We have a sneak peek at the line, although anyone looking at their September fashion magazines has already seen a bit of the line.

Missoni for Target

If you’ve not yet seen the campaign, prepare thyself. It will be *everywhere*.

Via Designers for Less

There is a twenty-page buy just in Vogue’s September issue.

Courtesy Image

There has already been significant editorial coverage on the line, including this piece in the August issue of Vogue.

Vogue August 2011 via Shopping's My Cardio

We start with these two pieces for your little prince or princess, they are darling.  As with the entire collection, the key will be quality: hopefully these are as soft and snuggly as they look.

Missoni for Target via All The Way Up Here Tumblr

Missoni’s signature motif is evident in just about all of the photos “leaked” (more about that later) thus far.

Missoni for Target via All the Way Up Here tumblr

This is Target’s most ambitious collaborative effort yet, with 400+ pieces in the collection.

Missoni for Target via All the Way Up Here tumblr

The group is so big there is more than one bicycle.

Missoni for Target

There are housewares of all kinds, including dishes that look very fun.

As well as accessories and luggage.

Missoni for Target via All the Way Up Here

The cosmetic cases look pretty.

Via Nitrolicious

Linens and home accent pieces are also part of the enormous line.

Missoni for Target via All the Way Up Here

There are lots of things for the tabletop.

Via Fashion Roi

Office supplies look a little zippier in Missoni designs; although this isn’t our favorite color palette, the colors are in keeping with a fall/winter collection.

Via Nitrolicious

Even with all of the other categories teeming with treasures, fashion remains a key focus of the collection.

Missoni for Target via All the Way Up Here

These scarves are very Missoni.

Missoni for Target via All the Way Up Here

There are plenty of choices for your MOTH (Man of the House).

Missoni for Target via All the Way Up Here tumblr

As well as the Young Miss in your palace.

Missoni for Target via All the Way Up Here tumblr

We referenced the “leaked photos’, they carry the scent of a very well done publicity campaign, suddenly appearing on the tumblr blogging service. (Yes, yours truly also has a tumblr, found here.) The blog is All the Way Up Here, penned by “Marina”.

“That’s right, joints, hinges and all. And like every doll, I’m obsessed with everything stylish in the world. So that’s what my blog is all about. I hope you enjoy the view.”

A very savvy effort indeed.

The Times carried a lengthy story about the collection on Monday.

“Some Americans may be confused about how to mix and match the brand’s bold colors — bright hues of green, blue, fuchsia and orange — and patterns, including the company’s trademark jagged lines, against other prints.

Online viewers will find a selection of items called “Margherita’s Must Haves.” As they click through the products they like, they will see recommendations on how to combine those items with others.”

The collection launches September 13, although those lucky enough to be in the the city for Fashion’s Night Out on September 8th will have a chance to shop early at a pop-up store.  Prices will range from $2.99 to $599.99, the Times story says most items will be less than $40.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Because we are partial to libraries and books we leave you with a note about a wonderful event this weekend, the annual Author’s Night party befitting the East Hampton Library.  This year more than 160 authors will be on hand at the party, including Martin Amis, Nelson DeMille, Susan Lucci and Kathy Freston.  Tickets start at $100, that gets you into the party at the library with the authors, that function is followed by private dinners all over town, those tickets run a bit more.

Here are just a few of the books by authors who will be at the event, the volume shown far right, Sag Harbor by Colson Whitehead, is a very good read, the others are all books sure t be added to the never-ending list of books marked as “to read”.

Via Author's Night

On that literary note, goodbye until next time!

19 Comments

Filed under Collaborations, preppy

19 responses to “Sneak Peek at Missoni for Target

  1. So, so excited for this! Thanks for posting so many images- this is the most I’ve seen so far! I’ve got my calendar marked for Sept. 13 🙂

  2. I adored that Times story & the notion that Americans require hand-holding when it comes to color coordination. Snort.

    As you say, the Missoni key (for me, at least) will be in the quality . . . think I’ve mentioned here before that I’ve resisted the designer collaborations thus far due to the poor construction, so I’m curious if that will continue here. I want to believe, but…

  3. HOLY MOLY if the pictures are not deceiving my eyes this might be their best collaboration yet! It actually looks darn good but I guess in person you will have to feel and see the materials if there is even 1% acrylic I am running for the nearest exit. But even the house wares, though they don’t really fit into my decor look like a lot of fun and you just know the price point is going to be great!! Good coverage..thanks!

  4. I’m always wary of the quality of these Target collaborations, but I really like the look of the Missoni collection so far. Thanks for sharing!

    legallybrunettekate.blogspot.com

  5. Thank you for always keeping us in the know, TP. I may be the exception to the rule, but I’ve never cared for Missoni. I think it’s a combination of the colors and prints. But I do like the variety of fabrics they feature.

  6. I’m not a fan of Missoni, but I like that cardigan…

  7. Love the sneak peek of Missoni for Target. Some of these collaborations are great, some not so. It is always better when natural fibers are used! Since I spend summers at the beach, I scooped up several Calypso pieces in cotton and linen. Hope Missoni isn’t all poly.!
    Lynn from Decor Arts Now

  8. Love the sneak peek of Missoni for Target. Some of these collaborations are great, some not so. It is always better when natural fibers are used! Since I spend summers at the beach, I scooped up several Calypso pieces in cotton and linen. Hope Missoni isn’t all poly.!
    Lynn from Decor Arts Now

  9. Amy

    I actually like that bike! Maybe that’ll become my beach cruiser.

    Have a great weekend to all at the Prepatorium! 🙂

  10. Missoni is something I love more in concept than in reality. I totally think the designs are brilliant but I just can’t imagine wearing them. The baby outfit is adorable though!

  11. So excited about Missoni for Target!

  12. I’m so glad you commented, I was just about to some by and say hello to you.! I LOVE< LOVE what is in store for Target, I would totally don those, and it won't break the bank either (I'm frugal).

  13. It certainly looks promising. I love the ad I’ve seen in the magazines. But as everyone, including you, has pointed out, it will all depend on the execution!!

  14. Thank you for sharing! Marking my calendar for the launch!

  15. Oh my. The seventies called. It wants the zig-zag crocheted afghans back. lol! 🙂

  16. Headed to Target today…can’t wait to check this out!

  17. Love! Great images you’ve got here. I snagged one and linked y’all in my post today on one of these Missoni items I just found at Goodwill!
    http://www.hemsandherbs.com

Leave a Reply

