Princess Prep Founder Chats Royal Wedding & Miss Middleton

We are fortunate enough to share another post from our Royal Correspondent, Queen Bee Swain.

Recently, the Queen Bee had the immense pleasure of asking Royal Expert Jerramy Fine a few questions about Kate Middleton as we now are only single-digits away from THE Wedding.  Jerramy is an outright expert on the Royals; as author of Some Day My Prince Will Come, True Adventures of a Wannabe Princess she chronicles her lifelong quest to meet and wed Peter Philips, the eldest grandson of Queen Elizabeth (Princess Anne’s son).

 

The journey took her from the fields of Colorado to the East Coast and twice to London, at one point even studying at the London School of Economics.  The memoir is an unrivaled story of a woman’s relentless quest for what she believes to be her birthright and dream; for more please read my interview with her about the book here.

Since writing the book, she has founded Princess Prep, a camp-of-sorts where young ladies learn all about being a princess, from etiquette lessons to philanthropic outings, this is the dream camp of elementary-school-aged young ladies everywhere.

Via The Huffington Post

(For more on Princess Prep click here.) Without further ado, here is Jerramy’s dish on all things Royal Wedding and Kate Middleton.

QBS: How are you going to be celebrating the wedding on April 29th?

JF: I plan to mark the occasion with something simple and elegant. Because this a formal occasion where email invites would not suffice, I posted paper wedding invitations and inscribed the following: “By the Queen’s Command, I invite xxxx to view the wedding of HRH Prince William of Wales and Miss Catherine Middleton at 11am at (the address of my flat) on Friday, 29th April 2011 and afterwards for a champagne reception. RSVP.”

The dress code is what I’m describing as “Westminster Abbey Chic.”  This means if you wouldn’t wear it to witness the royal marriage vows at Westminster Abbey, don’t wear it to my party.

Guests will be greeted with trays of morning mimosas and for food I’m creating a stylish buffet of mini sandwiches (no crusts!), warm scones with jam and clotted cream, and bowls of fresh strawberries. As a final touch, I will invite guests to make a donation to the favourite charities of the royal newlyweds, as they have requested this be done in lieu of wedding gifts.

QBS: Have you ever met Kate Middleton?  Any friends who have?

JF: The only person I know who’s met Kate Middleton is a colourist at Richard Ward.

Paul Ellis/AFP/Getty Images (L), Chris Jackson/AP (Center & Right)

QBS: What is something in terms of protocol/etiquette that would come as a surprise for Kate either on the day of her wedding or in the near future as she kicks off her role in The Firm, despite how well turned out she always is?
JF: I’m certain Kate has been well trained in every nuance of royal protocol. Something tells me this girl is never going to be caught enacting even the slightest faux pas.

QBS: What is something in terms of protocol/etiquette that would surprise us?
JF: When Kate Middleton marries Prince William she will not become Princess Catherine. Her formal title will be HRH Princess William of Wales.

QBS: Which tiara do you think that she will be wearing?

JF: My personal favourite is the The Cambridge Lover’s Knot, which Princess Diana received from the Queen as a wedding gift in 1981. This may be too flashy for Kate and perhaps too painfully reminiscent of William’s mother – but I’m holding out for it all the same!

Via Mastoloni.com

QBS: Any last piece of knowledge that you have as an expat living in London on Kate that we otherwise wouldn’t hear?!
JF: I’m really hoping Kate would opt for Philipa Leppley wedding dress, but I have insider information that she’ll be wearing Bruce Oldfield with her hair half up. (And although I truly loved Diana’s puffy confection of ivory taffeta, I suspect she’ll choose something sleeker – yet not overly modern. And as bare shoulders are not even allowed at Royal Ascot, I really hope Kate will shun the strapless trend, and don something with sleeves!)

Our thanks to both Ms. Fine and the Queen Bee!

9 Comments

Filed under preppy, Royal Wedding

9 responses to “Princess Prep Founder Chats Royal Wedding & Miss Middleton

  1. We soon will learn what Ms. Middleton will be wearing for her special day.
    I will be watching this royal wedding just as I did 30 years ago 🙂

  2. I wish I were an expat in London! My friend is heading there to cover the wedding, she’s a photographer, and won a trip… I’m going to live through her vicariously! I’m clueless with the royal wedding, the news and media here is still filled with what happened here, I need to tune into BBC!!!!

  3. WAIT, the story is REAL? oh i so wish that existed when i was a child!

  4. It is my last day of college classes and a Royal wedding! I am sure it will be a day I will never forget.

  5. What a fabulous post! I love the photos of Queen Elizabeth and Princess Diana wearing the Cambridge Lover’s Knot tiara. I am waiting with such excitement for next Friday! 🙂

  6. She does go through SO much to become princess!!

  7. I believe that the royal wedding will take wedding style in a new direction from the casual. And I think we’re more interested in the details and the big day than the British. Good luck Prince William and Kate.

  8. Princes Diana was a great princes everyone will say this she was kind hearted but she is no more now anyway we shall see Middleton will fulfill her role.

  9. kristina

    could you please recommend a book on manners???? since i’m old and can’t participate of princess prep?!?

Leave a Reply

