Polo Ralph Lauren Wants Your Children, & “True Prep” at the Princess

Hello-Hello on a bright and beautiful Thursday afternoon in The Great Midwest.

We begin with a sneak peek at the latest online marketing plan from Polo Ralph Lauren. If visiting the Childrens pages at PRL this is what one currently sees online.

Polo Ralph Lauren

Later this month an interactive storybook will be online.

Polo Ralph Lauren via WWD.com

“The RL Gang” is targeted at youngsters, according to this story in today’s Women’s Wear Daily:

“The storybook, which is launching in an exclusive partnership with Bloomingdale’s, targets children ages two and eight with looks from the collection that shoppers can click on and purchase through ralphlauren.com and bloomingdales.com.”

Below, Katherine and Oliver from the “Gang”.

The ‘shoppable book’ is slated to launch August 18th on the Polo Ralph Lauren website. Somehow the notion of marketing to two-year-olds doesn’t sit well here in the corner condo, but perhaps that is merely symptomatic of our fuddy-duddyness….?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

We stay with the children’s theme, moving on to some over-the-top playhouses for the Little Master and Mini-Mistress of the house. Below, we show the Nantucket Beach Cottage (disregard that hideous child-sized vehicle in the foreground).

Whittle/Splash News

Here is an interior of the little cottage, with apologies for the fisheye lens that was used to better show the decor.

H. Lorren Au Jr./OC Register

We like the American Craftsmen playhouse.

Whittle/Splash News

Now, lest we all get our whiskers in a wad about such conspicuous consumption, this is not simply another on the list of “Ridiculous Gifts for the Over Indulged Child,” it is merely part of a good cause, the 19th annual Project Playhouse auction.  The event raises funds to help to build housing for the homeless, in past auctions some of the pint-sized palaces have brought as much as $20,000.

For more details and loads of pictures, pop over and visit our friends at the Register.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

We’re long overdue for some Adventures in Argyle and Mad for Plaid updates, we begin with the latter. Le Boutique Targét offers the Men’s Madras cap (it may well be cuter on girls), now only $5.25.  Also fun, the women’s Plaid Rain Boots.

In a brighter palette, a darling Plaid ensemble for infant girls, or this Plaid Shirt for toddler boys at Kohl’s, both by Chaps.

For those seeking more practical items, Kohl’s offers Knee-high Argyle socks.

Old Navy offers polo shirts in a modern argyle motif in a variety of bright colors.

We have also seen some gorgeous argyle fall sweaters, not to mention other goodies, perhaps we should consider an entire post dedicated to that design.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Two small business matters to quickly mention (with regrets to those disinterested in such tedium), the first involving our insanely popular Lilly Pulitzer iPhone covers.

PreppyPrincess.com

We have an update on shipping dates for the cases: we expect to receive them here around August 13th or 14th, and will start shipping them out immediately.

Our other little note concerns a small announcement from Princess InterPlanetary HQ.

Random House

Yes, that is “True Prep: It’s a Whole New Old World,” something of a follow-up to “The Original Preppy Handbook”.  The news? After much angst and discussion we have decided that we shall offer the book at The Princess! The book will be released September 7, with a retail price of $19.95. However, we will be taking pre-orders for the book starting Monday (the 9th) at a substantially lower price. After all, what are friends for?

Until next time, we hope your skies are sunny!

13 Comments

Filed under Argyle, preppy, Preppy clothing & brands, Preppy Fashion, True Prep & TOPH

13 responses to “Polo Ralph Lauren Wants Your Children, & “True Prep” at the Princess

  1. I very much wanted a playhouse like that as a child, but alas daddy put the kibosh on that!

  2. ACH

    Preorder AND a discount! We love you, Ms. Princess! I knew there was a reason I was holding out on pre-ordering on Amazon 😉

  3. Suburban Princess

    Re the ON polos – what is it with all shirts being so long? I thought that was a dress! I know it’s what all the chubby 16 year old girls are demanding because they think it makes them look thin but honestly, they aren’t flattering on anyone! I keep having to ask myself if I like the shirt I have in my hand enough to pay another 15.00 to have it shortened!

  4. mary anne

    Well, fooey, I’m sorry I already pre-ordered from Amazon. I’d rather do business with you. Nothing against Amazon, they are really good, just love your customer service.

  5. BethAnn

    All I really want to say is that everything about this post makes me smile. I am giddy with the thought that my new iPhone cover is almost on its way and terribly excited to order “True Prep” on Monday.

  6. Jen

    Isn’t this why we got into that whole credit crisis bubble in the first place? No one under the age of 40 should be allowed to drive an Escalade, mini or otherwise.

    I still need to go on line and order my iPhone cover. So cute! Hope you are having a wonderful day in your neck of the woods. The humidity finally broke around our parts and it’s amazing.

  7. Those pint sized preps are adorable!

  8. And now I know where to order True Prep!

    Re: the long shirts – I have to say I’m not a fan of these either. I’m not very tall and since so few lines offer petite sizes, I’m already a little challenged when it comes to finding clothes. If they were just a little shorter, the ON shirts would be fun, though.

  9. I am in agreement with you 100% on the RL campaign. If I did have small children, the last place they would be is on the computer turning into human veggies. I’m all about children playing outside. Running, skipping, etc. 🙂 I’m so sad that I pre-ordered my book from Amazon, or I would def order from you ;-(

    Have a great evening!! xoxo

  10. KK

    Any chance you might also have (do they even make??) LP covers for blackberries?

  11. I know it’s what all the chubby 16 year old girls are demanding because they think it makes them look thin but honestly, they aren’t flattering on anyone! I keep having to ask myself if I like the shirt I have in my hand enough to pay
    polo ralph lauren

  12. I really want to say is that everything about this post makes me smile. I am giddy with the thought that my new iPhone cover is almost on its way and terribly excited to order “True Prep” on Monday.
    airbrush makeup

  13. im trying to find the site to order that purple green and pink plaid madras shirt for my son. kohl’s have them but its not listed anywhere on there(not that particular pattern) please help me find it…thanks

Leave a Reply

