The Consort’s Favorite 2011 Spring Men’s Looks

Hello-hello, all.  The Consort here skipping mikeside to amuse and confuse you as we slide into a very welcome holiday weekend.  The Princess is preparing her always popular 4th of July blog so I offered to fill in today.  I offered because I, quite frankly, am overwhelmed by the depth and breadth of men’s fashions coming to your local stores for Spring 2011.  The men in your life will be stunning and/or stunned.  Let’s start with a memorable look…

I think Spartacus wore this...

Here’s a little something from Emporio Armani that looks great poolside or just about anywhere.  I recommend applying a liberal coating of Crisco and having at it.  It makes me think of that great line from the film “Airplane”: ” So tell me, do you like gladiator movies?”  And who doesn’t?  Of course because the singlet is a classic black it can be worn confidently for evening formal affairs.

I think I can help if you’ve been looking for something to wear on casual Friday at the office.  What do you think of this look?

What is this? 1947?

I love this look from Yves Saint Laurent.  It is so retro and brings us back to post-WWII fashion.  The elegant drape of the pants and the beautiful shirt make for a remarkable  combination.  The cummerbund/girdle makes me pause.  Leopard skin will make people look twice every time.  I have to recommend that if you choose to wear a girdle you might consider wearing it inside your clothing.   There are some things we just don’t need to see.   Perhaps you’d prefer to wear a jacket in the office…

Light...airy... always comfortable

Been working out?  Have some guns you want to show off?  Here’s your outfit.  Once again Emporio Armani comes through with an outfit that is perfect in any situation.  The sheer shirt keeps you cool on the hottest summer day or in the most intense department head meeting.   The only thing missing in this look are some tattoos.  Now normally I recommend that you sport your tattoos only where a judge won’t see them in court.  But in this case you can’t go wrong.  Lawyers, wear this look in court and I guarantee you’ll have the judge thinking “Gee, that guy is a snappy dresser!”  Let me know how that works out for you.

Let’s go more casual in our next look.

Are those shin pads?

I’ve always been a bit afraid of mixing prints.  Now I know why.  This tasty combination from Walter Van Beirendonck makes me a little weak in the knees.  But that’s fine because apparently there are knee/shin pads in the pants.  This is great and I’ll be ready in case a soccer or hockey game suddenly breaks out.  The skirt allows maximum movement and flexibility.  I’m thinking this is worthy of consideration for uniforms for World Cup 2014.  Just a little modification but I’m sure our friends at Nike or Adidas can handle that.

Thom Browne is getting in on the fun, too.

Photo by Giovanni Giannoni/WWD

This is a classic example of what happens when plaids collide.  But not just the plaids are making my eyes cross.  No, is that sequins I see on the jacket?  Perhaps the shiny material is, in fact, duct tape.  I’m not sure but I think Mr. Browne has done it again!  Bravo, sir!

And finally we answer the question “What happened to all those troll dolls from the 1960s?”

Remember me?

How many dolls gave up their hair...

You remember those dolls with the stubby body and long, brilliantly colored hair?  They ended up in Roberto Cavalli’s studio.  All that hair was sewn into this design and I think it works.  You can’t go wrong in this outfit.  Just imagine a light breeze rustling through your… well, hairy shirt.  Who wouldn’t want that?

But enough frivolity for now.  I must return to the more mundane tasks at hand.  I’ll leave you as I always do:  Don’t forget to take care of your waitperson because they’re working hard for you today.  Let’s close today with a little musical number from a New Jersey guy who might have a future in the music business.  Good night, everyone!

Photo credits: Imaxtree

8 Comments

Filed under Friday Fun, It's Just Not Done, Posts by the Princess Consort

8 responses to “The Consort’s Favorite 2011 Spring Men’s Looks

  1. MCW

    That men’s fashion is all very, very scary. I question the mental stability of the designers.

  2. VickyM

    Absolutely hysterical. What a wag you are, sir!

  3. Love this post! The skirt/shin pads has to my absolute fav… hahaha… can you imagine! Thanks for the post, it made me smile

  4. Literally laughing out loud at this post! Have a fab 4th with the lovely Princess and Tilly. xoxo

  5. lewisha

    Love the clothes, some of them are fabulous.
    http://www.preppydiary.wordpress.com

  6. Your the Greatest.

    Always Bumby

  7. hahahahahahaha Oh, this was just the laugh I needed this afternoon!

  8. five tomatoes

    I’d like to see the consort in the leopard look with a matching leash/collar for Tilly.

Leave a Reply

