The Consort v. The Smart Phone

Hello-hello, The Consort stumbling mikeside to capture your attention while The (lovely and talented) Princess continues her East Coast visit.  She’ll be spending quality time with one of our favorite partners in Rhode Island.  So while she’s gallivanting I thought I’d take the opportunity to upgrade my cellphone situation.  Hang on tight; this is going to be a rocky ride.

You must first understand that I embrace technology.  I love my 8-track tape player.  Those tapes sound great and I love hearing all the music that kids are listening to these days.  So you’d be correct if you concluded that I would be sporting a great cellphone.  Here’s what I’m carrying now…

Can you hear me now?

Beautiful. eh?  If you’re standing right next to me and call my phone there is a good chance I’ll be able to hear you.  But The Princess has told me to upgrade to one of these so-called Smart Phones.  Now that the new Apple iPhone is out I’m going to think about that.  She loves her iPhone and it seems to work very well.  The camera function is impressive and I hear the new iPhone has what is called a forward facing camera.  So if I get a new iPhone who wants to bet that I will still manage to get things confused and end up taking pictures of my own forehead?  Anybody have any advice for me?  What phones are you using these days?  This is no time to be shy with your tips and I’ll appreciate any direction you can provide.

One of the true joys of these conversations is the opportunity to meet some creative people.  One such person joins us from the Philippines where she is involved in the fashion industry.  She also dabbles in creative cooking.  Before I go further I must remind you that I fancy myself as an old-school tough guy.  Not “men tremble, women faint and children cry” sort of tough but it generally takes a lot to rattle me.  I was rattled when I saw this:

Lip-smackin' good

Our creative cook in the Philippines put this main dish together in a fit of hunger.  What’s in this culinary collision, you ask?  Start with a package of shrimp flavored noodles, add some diced cheese (does it really matter what kind?), half an onion, some ketchup, salt and pepper and mix in a can of Spam.  Cook it all up, mush it into a ball and alert your arteries that you’re going on the attack.  I gotta try this.  How bad can it be?  Indeed.

I mentioned earlier that The Princess is goofing off doing some work on the East Coast.  She shares this picture to let us know what a grind she’s enduring.

Tough job

I love it.  Isn’t that a beautiful picture?  The only thing that would make that even more beautiful is if The Princess were in the shot.  She’s having a great trip and sends her best wishes to you all.  She’ll be back with you Monday.

So I’ll say ta-ta for now and I’ll leave you with my usual reminder:  Take care of your waitperson because they’re working hard for you today.  While I’m gone I hope you’ll enjoy the modern song stylings of these young kids from New York City.  Good night, all!

3 Comments

Filed under Posts by the Princess Consort, preppy, preppy lifestyle

3 responses to “The Consort v. The Smart Phone

  1. Hope you make it through the weekend! 🙂

    And I wish my job involved work trips to locales that looked like that.

  2. Ah, the joys of smart phones! They are complicated indeed, but once you figure it out, you’ll be hooked like the rest of us!

    Glad the Princess is having a good vacation/work trip! 🙂

  3. I’ve had my blackberry for a few months, and I’m determined to fully know how to use it before heading off to college!

Leave a Reply

