What The Consort Has Learned While Riding The Blog Bus

Hello-hello, all.  The Consort here gliding effortlessly mikeside to entertain you while The (lovely and talented) Princess admires her gardening efforts.  I thought today would be perfect for a trip down memory lane.  We’ve been celebrating our 1,000,000th reader of this modest effort so I thought I’d share some of the moments that resonated with me.  Hang on tight; we’re going for a ride on the blog bus.

Our first stop is at the fabulous Royal Ascot for a little lesson in fashion headwear.

"My horse isn't real either."

Nothing says haute couture to me like a giant chocolate confection on your head.  Perhaps I’m a bit of a fashion simpleton but the point may be lost on me.  I do, however, appreciate the effort.  Many of our readers also appreciated my effort to expand my limited fashion horizons.  I certainly learned that our gentle readers have an infinite amount of patience with those of us who are less “fashion forward”.

Our next stop is back on this side of the Atlantic…

Yugo? No, not often.

I shared some thoughts on trading in the family car during the so-called “Cash For Clunkers” government program.  It seemed like such a good idea to cash in the ol’ Yugo for some vehicle that, well, functioned.  Not that there is anything wrong with a Yugo.  Certainly nothing that a date with a car crusher wouldn’t fix.  People seemed to connect with my efforts to upgrade the family ride.  Alas, I was too late to take advantage of the program.  The lesson here?   Move faster.  But I had no experience in moving swiftly.   The words “fast” and “Yugo” aren’t often seen in the same sentence.

Our next stop is a lesson in compassion.

Bradley The Bulldog

This is Bradley.  He was a little bulldog born with serious health issues.  This photo was taken as his foster family fed him a cheeseburger and chicken prior to taking the step that any compassionate pet owner hates to have to take.  You see, Bradley could not be saved.  Veterinarians told Bradley’s people that there was no way the little bull could be helped and his quality of life was declining.  When I wrote the original post I said that it was a blessing that Bradley spent his last moments in the arms of someone who loved him.  The lesson?  I learned that our readers are compassionate and have huge hearts.  Many of you rescue or foster animals.  I celebrate your willingness to give of yourself to help animals that are unable to help themselves.

We’re at the final stop on this ride.  But before we get off the bus I would love to hear which of the nearly 700 (!) Preppy Princess blogs is your favorite.  Come on, kids, dish.  There’s no one here but you and thousands of your closest friends.   This is my opportunity to say “thanks” for all the fun you’ve given me on this journey.  I’m privileged to have been exposed to some very creative people.  This world is a wonderful place because of people like you.  We never imagined so many people would be interested enough to read this blog.  We are overwhelmed by your willingness to share your time with us and we promise to keep the conversation going.

But now it’s time to say ta-ta.  I’ll leave you as I always do; take care of your waitperson because they’re working hard for you today.  The Princess will return Monday with some Memorial Day thoughts as she breaks out all her white clothes and seersucker for the summer season.  Now sit back and enjoy these talented young women with a message to tell.

5 Comments

Filed under Posts by the Princess Consort, preppy, Preppy Fashion, preppy lifestyle

5 responses to “What The Consort Has Learned While Riding The Blog Bus

  1. The Princess & the Consort were integral in our decision to rescue Rhett Butler from a shelter and provide him with a loving home. We think he likes our cozy condo better than the mean streets of Chicago 🙂

  2. kiki

    the picture of bradley and his story is breaking my heart. we rescued our male golden from the golden retriever rescue last summer. he has been a wonderful addition to our family. wow. that song takes me back…way back to high school. eek! have an amazing holiday weekend and take care.

  3. Awwww, poor Bradley!! Hope you’re having a fun Memorial day. Bring on the seersucker and cute summer whites!

  4. Clare

    Aww Bradley is the cutest!!! I hope you are wearing some amazing Lilly this Memorial Day!

    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  5. KK

    Oh what a sweet face on that baby boy! We gave our black lab Bailey chocolate donuts the morning of his last day. It then took me a year to not cry as I passed a Dunkin. Which is saying a lot as I live in Upstate NY and Dunkin is literally on every other corner.

    I don’t know if I have a favorite post – but you are one of my very favorite bloggers. So cheers to many many more blog posts and loyal readers!

Leave a Reply

