The Consort Goes To The Prom

Hello-Hello, everyone.  The Consort gliding effortlessly mikeside to entertain you while The Princess enjoys a spa day.  I have no idea how she can improve upon her perfection but a little pampering never hurts.  While she enjoys her private time we’ll dust off the tuxedo and go to the prom.

Not The Consort or Princess

When I was just a young Consort I worked at a tuxedo rental shop.  It was a great experience and gave me an appreciation for dressing like an adult.  I guess that also explains why I own a handful of tuxedos to this day.  I still enjoy dressing like an adult and a nice tux or two from Brooks Brothers always works for me.  But I’m straying from my point.  While working at that tuxedo shop I was able to help hundreds of teen-aged males put together the outfits they would wear during one of the biggest events of their young lives.  This was no episode of “Gossip Girls” where the kids are so fashionable.  Most of the guys I encountered came in clueless and left marginally informed about what to wear and how to dress to impress.  I also learned that if some guy came in insisting he was a certain size he often had no idea what he was talking about.  To this day I can look at someone and guesstimate their suit size.  It’s no big deal; just something you pick up after a while.  You know that old saw “The customer is always right”?  That’s not true.  The customer is often wrong but the customer is always the customer.  I learned that lesson well.

It was always fun when the guy would come in with his date for the big night.  She would have a swatch of fabric from her dress clutched in her hand and my mission was to find something that would match the color.  The guy would give me a certain look and would often stand in the background while his sartorial future was decided.  It was always a challenge to put together an outfit that satisfied the young woman, her mother, his mother and occasionally,  the guy.  Sound sexist?  It’s just the way it worked more times than not.  Determining who to sell was just one more of the lessons I learned in that job.

Another thing I learned was how to tie a bow tie.  It’s not terribly difficult but can have a real impact as a night winds down and it’s time to loosen the ties for that last drink.  That’s when you find out who has the grown-up tie and who is still sitting at the kiddie table of bow ties. Brush up on your skills by taking a couple of minutes to watch this short instructional video.  A refresher is always helpful.   Of course, a bow tie is not just for formal wear but it takes a confident person to pull off the look.  If you do choose to sport a bow you must understand that you will make an impression.  But I guess there are worse things for which one can be remembered, right?

I had a great time at my proms (yes, there were several).  What are some of your memories?  C’mon, share them with us.  We’d love to join you on a walk down memory lane.

Changing directions completely here…

Oklahoma City Memorial

April 19 is a bittersweet day for The Princess and I.  We were both working in the television industry in Oklahoma City in 1995.  What happened 15 years ago changed so many lives.  In the wake of such evil we saw an amazing amount of good.  We left the city in 1996 and haven’t been back.  I’m not sure I have the strength or courage.  I do know that we can never forget the events that unfolded in the days, weeks and months after the bombing.  168 people died that day in OKC and the entire nation mourned.  We asked how it could be worse.  Just six years later we found out.

If this tome seems a bit “all over the map” I apologize.  It’s just one of those days.  But better times are ahead.  I’m an incurable optimist and too stubborn to be discouraged.  Both my blushing bride and I are blessed with each other, family and friends we love.  Those are great reasons to keep moving forward, wouldn’t you agree?

So now I must say good-bye.  The Princess will return tomorrow and I know she’ll have the latest fashion tidbits you’ve come to know and love.  I remind you to take care of your waitperson because they’re working hard for you today.  Let’s close today with two young guys who can weave their voices into magic.  Good night, everyone!

15 Comments

Filed under Posts by the Princess Consort, preppy, Preppy Fashion, preppy lifestyle

15 responses to “The Consort Goes To The Prom

  1. Suburban Princess

    Pssst…it s/b ‘the princess and me’ :O)

  2. Oh the prom…. I spent many a happy hour shopping for the just perfect prom dresses!

    Thank you for reminding us of the OKC bombing… it is always a little sobering to think that a day that bears no real significance for me… forever changed so many lives… and it reminds me that there really is no day that is insignificant!

  3. KSE

    My favorite [okay not-so-favorite-but-definitely-lasting] Prom memory: My prom date crying in his car to me about how he didn’t have any friends. What was a 15 year old girl to do?

  4. Hello Consort and happy spa day to the Princess! That is such a cute story about your days in the tux shop. I bet the young gentlemen’s dates were very impressed with the outfits you helped put together. Also, my heart goes out to those affected by the Oklahoma City bombing. I can’t even imagine the turmoil and the broken hearts. And to be involved in the TV industry during that time! I’m sure it’s something you’ll always remember.

  5. Great post as always, loved the ‘clutched in her hand ‘

    Always Bumby

  6. I loved the prom! We had two- junior and senior year. My junior year was an absolute dream- I was asked by a guy I had liked for years, and I was the first girl to get asked in my grade (in February for the prom at the end of May!). Senior year was another story.. didn’t go with my all-time crush but rather a friend who went to the all-boys school in the next town over, and he new all of my friends from elementary school so he fit right in.

  7. i have also worked in retail and developed an appreciation for the customer and the business. i had one great prom and one bad prom. the bad prom was horrible since my date was my best friend’s boyfriend since her parents wouldn’t let her go with him, so i took him so she could be with him. i know, i know, sweet, huh? i’m just a good friend. we weren’t friends much longer after that, though. my senior prom was the best. after an amazing prom we all went into NYC and partied into the wee hours. good times. take care, Consort.

  8. VictoriaM

    Charming. Loved the instructional video. Fondly remember the first love of my life resplendent in his white dinner jacket.

  9. LPC

    Have you ever looked at Maximinimus’ blog? I believe you two would become fast friends, if either of you ever stopped laughing at eachother’s stories.

  10. Thank you for this post and the song.

  11. That picture looks like it was from my era. How funny!!! My husband and I are high school sweethearts, so we went to prom together. Such fun times! Love & blessings from NC!

  12. Jen

    So glad the Princess is getting a much deserved spa day. Nice to hear from the Consort. My husband and I are always late to events requiring black tie as he has to relearn the whole bow tying thing. Perhaps I should practice.
    Very sorry to hear that you had to live through the bombings. I can only imagine how difficult it was to be there. It was hard enough to see it on television a world away.

  13. Loved your walk down memory lane. Prom is such a milestone.

    On a more serious note, I am so sorry that you experienced the OK city bombing – and may those souls who lost their lives rest in peace. I was in NYC on 9/11 and I will never forget…

  14. I saw the OKC memorial in 2000. Lifechanging.

  15. I do so enjoy your guest posts, TPC.

    Prom is a milestone I’m pleased to have behind me, but this was a fun trip down memory lane nonetheless. That being said, now I’m preoccupied with how to sneak a Brooks Brothers tux into my husband’s closet. Hmm …

    And thank you for the OKC reminder (though admittedly I’m reading this belatedly).

Leave a Reply

