The Consort Goes All Olympic-manic & Here’s A Tip…

Hello-Hello, everyone.  The Consort skipping merrily mikeside while my beloved bride, The Princess, recovers from a long night of long-form skating viewing.  Let’s careen through some random thoughts, shall we?

(Photo by Matthew Stockman/Getty Images)

I’m not much on ice skates.  The Princess has “mad skills” (as the kids nowadays like to say) but I’m basically a functioning idiot on skates.  Can’t turn, skate backwards or stop once I get moving.  But I appreciate the astounding exhibition of power and grace the men demonstrated in Vancouver.   Gold medalist Evan Lysacek of the United States, silver medalist Evgeni Plushenko of Russia and bronze medalist Daisuke Takahashi of Japan treated the world to the equivalent of a staredown on ice.  The controlled power in the leaps, the dazzling footwork and restrained costumes added up to a delightful night of viewing.  Performance under pressure is always something wonderful to behold.

One of the challenges facing the Olympic venues is the warm weather.  Is melting snow why this guy showed up?

(AP Photo/Gerry Broome)

Always good to see Michael Phelps in the house.  I imagine he’d be something to see going downhill on the bobsled run.  He’d probably medal at that, too.

While we’re going downhill… Thom Browne unleashed his vision on Fashion Week in NYC.  Let’s look at some of the highlights, shall we?

(Courtesy: The Fashionisto)

This might surprise you but I like his salute to Elton John’s 1970’s look.  The pillbox hat works well and carrying a groundhog tops off the outfit.   You’ll have to agree Mr. Browne’s spin on outerwear is breathtaking.  Or makes you choke a little bit.

(Courtesy: The Fashionisto)

I can’t resist the urge to tell this guy that there are raccoons crawling up his dress.  He’s probably aware of that and is handling the situation very well.  Remember that “performance under pressure” we discussed earlier?  Well, here you go.

(Courtesy: The Fashionisto)

Now I really like this look.  The shades of gray look lush and flow together so well.  I’m serious.  Look at the lines on that coat.  Okay, the hat and muff are a bit over the top for me but those are accessories.  Mr. Browne is an artist of immense talent.  We need people with vision who are unafraid to take risks.  I think he’s great.  You won’t be seeing me in his designs but that’s probably a good thing for many reasons.

Rather than comment on the Tiger Woods controlled media propaganda event news conference I will let you fill in your own punch line.  There is no shortage.

So on that open-ended thought I will say good-bye for now.  The Princess will be back next time with another look at Fashion Week and Vancouver events.  I remind you to treat your waitperson right because they’re working hard for you tonight.  I’ll leave you with words of wisdom from a Motown giant who had some issues of his own.

4 Comments

Filed under Posts by the Princess Consort, Preppy clothing & brands, Preppy Fashion, Winter Olympics 2010

4 responses to “The Consort Goes All Olympic-manic & Here’s A Tip…

  1. You have me on the floor … Thank you.

    Always Bumby

  2. MCW

    I am not a huge fan of men in ice skate’s in tight, sparkly outfits…but, Mr. Evan is quiet the looker.

  3. Amy

    Lmao! Love your posts! And I like that gray coat too, it’s quite stylish.

  4. Thom Browne is very interesting. The grey coat is nice, but I am lost on his other designs. Hope you had a great weekend!!

Leave a Reply

