The Nautical Look for Spring 2010

Hello and greetings on a sunny Tuesday!

We have heavy volunteer commitments today, so we are making it One Topic Tuesday! Our subject is a favorite topic here at the Prepatorium, the nautical look. From the trend-spotters over at Women’s Wear Daily:

“Anchors aweigh! Nautical-inspired looks are always springtime favorites, but this season, designers are adding an unexpected twist to the classics, from tops with playful sequin stripes to sexy strapless dresses.”

Included in the story, the Sperry Top Sider and a trench from Nautica. (NOTE: Many of these pieces are not yet available for purchase, we have tried to note those that are currently selling.)

nautical-trend07Nautica, nautical trench

Next, a look from Tommy Hilfiger on the left, and a Navy/Creme Knit Dress from Thread Social. (The entire Spring 2010 Collection is available for purchase now, here is the link.)

Handbags exhibiting nautical traits are always popular here at the Prepatorium.  Below left, Nautica’s anchor bag, and the Eric Javits Squishee Mini Shopper is on the right. (Don’t you simply love that name? It just rolls off the tongue!)

.

The Squishee comes in a fabulous selection of colors:

Also very appealing, the Rebecca Taylor sweater (L) and a Jones New York Signature sweater.

Jones New York Signature is showing a number of similar looks on their site right now for those interested, including the Nautical Stripe Sweater and the Rope Neck Tunic.

Not seen in the WWD story, this cute Condiment Set at Le Boutique Targèt.

And while finding it to be just darling, the Cute-o-meter might be peaking in the red zone with the Nautical Bath Collection at Target.

With that we say g’bye until next time!

.

12 Comments

Filed under nautical, preppy, Preppy Fashion, preppy lifestyle

12 responses to “The Nautical Look for Spring 2010

  1. LPC

    I LOVE The Squishee! Can we say instant classic?

  2. Spring? You are way ahead of me. I’m still trying to get through Christmas. Love the post. Will HAVE to get target nautical items for boys bathroom asap! xoxo

    SC

  3. How cute!..As much as I love this time of year, I’m dreaming of some warm summer weather to carry those adorable must have handbags!!
    Love them!

  4. MCW

    Adorable nautical gear…not ready for Spring quite yet!

  5. KK

    I heart that yellow bag! Love love love it! You really can’t go wrong with anything as classic as a nautical theme.

  6. Oh my goodness…I must need to hang it up and go to bed because I was thinking, “well those nautical things at Target are soooo cute, but I wonder why they are making ashtrays?”

  7. I have that Nautical Bathroom set from Target! Unfortinatly it is no longer is stock 😦 the only piece we dont have is the trash can cuz it was REALLY Small and I found a wire red mesh one for 50 cents instead. Our wedding was Nautical Themed and one of my friends got us the whole set!!! We even have a life preserver in white and navy on the door of the bathroom!!! LOVE IT!!!

  8. really love the nautical look!

  9. I think I must get my hands on a Squishee. The multi-color one is a dream!

  10. blacklabsandlilly

    Love all things nautical, and navy is one of my favorite colors to wear!!! Bring on the warm weather!

  11. Princess Freckles

    Hi! Thanks for all your nice comments on our wedding photos and encouragement the day of! 🙂

    I saw a similar condiment tray at Zehnders in Frankenmeuth! Glad I didn’t buy it, I’m sure trget is less expensive.

Leave a Reply

