7 Wacky Things, The Christie’s Goyard Auction

Hello-Hello on a splendid afternoon in The Great Midwest!

Because The Princess was tagged by the Call the Preppies In, you will now be subjected to 7 random facts!

1) Although selected for the Cheerleading squad in high school TP declined because she figure skated 3-6 hours a day.

Alessia Pierdomenico/Reuters

Alessia Pierdomenico/Reuters

2) Our previous dog was a Giant Schnauzer.  Above, this year’s Crufts Best in Show winner, Philippe, a Giant Schnauzer.  Below, our boy Phred; we had him thirteen years. Our current canine is Tilly, a rescued Bulldog, one photo below Phred’s.
Phred le Deux

Phred le Deux

3) My first media job was as a radio host while in college; in my last position I was the General Manager of a CBS affiliate.

Silly Tilly on Patrol

Silly Tilly on Patrol

4) Despite all evidence to the contrary, we really do know how to cook. Kind of.

5) The Palace is about to be swallowed whole by the paper blob, because we read all the time. All. the. time. The list of periodicals we subscribe to is obscene, not to mention the pile of books from the local library.

6) Speaking of….TP has worked on numerous campaigns (issues only, never candidates) including the last two local millage requests for libraries.

7) Fairly early in the television career I was producing a live television special. Shortly after breaking into programming, the primary talent took off his microphone and walked away saying, “I’m out of words.” What followed was not pretty.

We tag Bec’s Bohemia, the Landlocked Mermaid, Mom x 2, Fashion Addict, and Fashion Herald.

This afternoon we once again find ourselves wishing the Concorde were still flitting across the pond, Heathrow to JFK or Dulles, and then back again to Heathrow, or maybe de Gaulle depending upon one’s plans. That way only 3-1/2 hours or so of one’s life were lost to travel time…well, a little more because of customs and whatnot, but nothing like today’s travel trauma.

That would make the upcoming auction of Goyard bags and luggage at Christie’s Paris almost manageable. Almost being the operative word, but still…

This will be the 3rd Annual Auction benefitting cancer research efforts at the Curie Institut in Paris. 21 women from the fashion, sports and movie worlds were asked to customize an item from the Goyard collection.

v

Vahina Giocante design for Goyard auction

The notables participating include Elodie Bouchez, Cécile Cassel, Catherine Deneuve, Zoé Felix, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Vahina Giocante, Chiara Mastroianni, Helena Noguerra, Linh-Dan Pham, Barbara Schulz, Audrey Tautou and Elsa Zylberstein. Bags will be on exhibit at Goyard on St Honoré.  Sigh. (The bag seen below is from a previous auction.)

7 Comments

Filed under preppy

7 responses to “7 Wacky Things, The Christie’s Goyard Auction

  1. Hello Princess! My dream of dreams of dreams of dreams.. a goyard bag. They are sooo divine. I leave for work in NYC tomorrow for two days and I can’t tell you the amount of ladies I see carrying them when I am there.. Sigh, some day xo

  2. I did varsity cheer my freshman year. It was hard to balance with figure skating. (Something along the lines of four hours of sleep…) I have regionals really soon, but I haven’t been practicing enough. I went through my senior long program today. It was not fun. What club did you skate for? Did you skate in college?

    The bags are quite cute!

  3. Fun facts! I too was a competitive ice skater for a time, but in my case, it was my surly attitude that kept me from attempting the cheer squad.

    Silly Tilly is adorable. What a very TP-worthy companion.

    And thank you for the Goyard pretties, which are significantly brightening my morning. Oh, would that we were still in the days of the Concorde, or even just decent service from the regular ol’ airlines . . .

  4. Mmmmm, Goyard always makes my day. Your gorgeous puppies are a joy to behold. And I was a cheerleader for several years, but gave it up in favor of the drama club!

  5. wow, a skater, I’m seriously impressed. and the puppies! I’m sorry about Phred, it’s so tough to lose your friends. but Silly looks very vigilant at the palace!

  6. sorry, that’s my stupid computer, not me, of course!

  7. Love the Goyard!!! FAB!

Leave a Reply

